BCNET is a federally incorporated, not-for-profit organization that is governed by its member-elected Board of Directors. The Board sets the strategic direction of the organization and delegates operational responsibility to BCNET's CEO and staff.


Five Membership ClassES

BCNET represents all public, post-secondary education institutions in the province. Our bylaws identify five membership classes that designate voting rights at general meetings and determine Board representation:

  • Founding (The University of British Columbia, University of Victoria, Simon Fraser University)
  • Core (University of Northern British Columbia, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Thompson Rivers University)
  • Universities & Institutes
  • Colleges
  • Research and Other Higher Education


board representation

There are 23 Directors of the Board, of which, 15 are elected by the membership classes. There are seven at large directors and a Board appointed President/CEO.


Standing Committees

BCNET has four standing committees that are made up of Board members:

  • Executive
  • Finance
  • Audit & Risk Management 
  • Nominating and Governance Review